“In fair Verona, where we lay our scene”

“Two households, both alike in dignity,
In fair Verona, where we lay our scene,”

I think it is fair to say for a lot of people, Verona is instantly associated with Shakespeare’s play Romeo and Juliet; although Shakespeare never visited the city. Obviously, we had to see Juliet’s balcony. My husband and I had seen the movie Letters to Juliet a few months before we arrived in Verona and hubby was expecting the same atmosphere as in the movie. As for me, I didn’t know what to expect but I was surprised nonetheless by the crowd we found. There were so many tourists flocking to see this tiny balcony which by the way was constructed in 1936 to attract visitors. Was it worth the hype? In my opinion, not really but it’s a must see, right? Just one of those tourist thing you check off your list. I hate to ruin it for those who haven’t been but there was one aspect of it that totally surprised me. But, before I get into that, let’s take a look at that famous balcony in the photo below and the courtyard that it overlooks.

If you take a look at the photo below, right by that wall where the people are standing, towards the bottom is a bronze statue of Juliet. According to legend, if you rub the right breast, you get good luck in finding a new lover. There were throngs of people around it. This little tiny courtyard was jam-packed with people – I mean wall-to-wall with people, I kid you not. The term “packed like sardines” came to mind. I wasn’t prepared to fight through the crowd just to take a photo so I found a post from Gourmantic on The Real Letters to Juliet: Casa di Giulietta in Verona which has a photo of the bronze statue of Juliet.

The next photo is right across from the photo above. What I love about the photo below is the mix of old and new. To the left is reminiscent of medieval times (whether original or not) and right across it, the more open balconies with their potted plants.

Before we leave Juliet’s courtyard, the next picture shows what surprised me. To get to Juliet’s courtyard from Via Cappello, you enter a covered walkway. This walkway was covered in graffiti! Love notes! I don’t remember seeing this in the movie Letters to Juliet. I wasn’t expecting it. People wrote on top of other people’s notes. On the larger ones, see the heart on the bottom right, someone wrote on the lines outlining the heart.

Wait, look, there’s room at the top! I wondered how they reached that high – I got my answer here.

But, there is more Verona than Romeo and Juliet. You’ll just have to stay tuned for the next post to find out!


About May Dayao

Carpe diem!
This entry was posted in Italy, Travel, Verona and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to “In fair Verona, where we lay our scene”

  1. zelmare says:

    People are very gullible, they will believe anything that sounds good to them! :) It is a romantic idea, true, but still… Very lovely photo’s, though! i love the one with the different balconies. Love going on your trips with you! :)

    • May Dayao says:

      Aww, thanks so much! Glad you liked them. The balcony photo is my favourite too :) I just love the contrast. One of the beauties of Verona where different styles from Medieval to Renaissance to Baroque all commingle in this lovely city. Thanks for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

