Griffith Observatory

I’m back. It’s been a month since my last post. Unfortunately, school has been taking up all of my free time since then. The exam is next week so I hope to be able to write more in the coming months. Gotta love summer vacation, albeit a self-imposed one. I think I deserve the break after working so hard these past few months. It was difficult trying to get back into school mode and even more challenging doing it with a full time job. I had not planned on going back to school, this is one of those “must do for work”. Anyway, this post is not meant to be about me going back to school. So, let’s get to it…

I’ve been to California a few times now. It makes it easy to travel there having family in both Los Angeles and San Francisco areas. In July 2008, we were in southern California and decided to visit the Griffith Observatory. I’m a fan of the 1955 movie Rebel Without a Cause starring James Dean and Natalie Wood. Many films have been shot at this location but Rebel Without A Cause is the only movie that left an impression on me.

Griffith Observatory in Los Angeles, California is located on the south-facing slope of Mount Hollywood in L.A.’s Griffith Park. Amazing views all around from the Observatory, including downtown Los Angeles and that famous Hollywood sign. If you are so inclined, you can even go hiking.

Short background on the Griffith Observatory (courtesy of Wikipedia)… Colonel Griffith donated the land surrounding the observatory on December 16, 1896 with a proviso in his will that the donated funds be used to build an observatory, exhibit hall and planetarium. It took approximately two years to construct the observatory. The doors opened to the public on May 14, 1935.

A close-up view of front facade leading to the front doors.

Astronomers Monument in front of north door.
Can you read the captions at the base of each statue? Newton is the one on the left.

As this is after all an observatory, you’ll find an array of space related displays, including one of Foucault’s Pendulum below. This is actually the first exhibit you will find when you enter the building. Foucault’s Pendulum was designed to illustrate the rotation of the Earth. I won’t go into an explanation about Foucault’s Pendulum here but if you want more information, click here! This is a great place to explore not just for kids but for adults as well. The official site is http://www.griffithobs.org/ for more information should you plan a visit.

Foucault Pendulum in the center of W. M. Keck Foundation Central Rotunda.

A view through the arches of the Hollywood sign in the background.

That's me waving 🙂

To close, I will leave you with this image of downtown Los Angeles as seen from the Observatory.

About May Dayao

Carpe diem!
This entry was posted in California, Travel, USA and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Griffith Observatory

  1. Lagos says:

    Very nice. The detail on the structure is amazing.

  2. Malou says:

    Looks like a cool place to explore. I’ve never been to California and would like to one day. 😉

    • May Dayao says:

      Thanks Malou! You should make it happen 🙂 Lots to see and do in California. I think you’ll like the national parks. Yosemite is one of my favourites. Haven’t been there in years but hoping to go in August. Haven’t quite planned our itinerary yet. Have a great day!

  3. Fidel says:

    One of the favorite places of mine to see when I lived in So Cal. Sadly, I wasn’t as much an avid photographer then and never snapped pictures up there. I would love to now though.
    I love your framing shot of the Hollywood sign! You forgot the James Dean bust though.

    • May Dayao says:

      Then it’s time for a re-visit 🙂 You’re right, I forgot to take a photo of the bust. I’ve been to So Cal many times so I tend to forget to take photos when I’m there. Is that weird? I’m going back in August so I’m going to bring my better camera and make a conscious effort to take photos. Thanks for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

