The Getty Center

In honour of our latest trip to California, thought I would dig into my vault of photos as I haven’t had a chance to go through my recent ones. These photos were from our visit on July 2008. Methinks it is time for another visit when we return to California in the new year.

So if you’re in Los Angeles, I highly recommend visiting The Getty Center. It is an art museum opened on December 16, 1997. It “presents the Getty’s collection of European and American art from the Middle Ages to the present against a backdrop of dramatic architecture, tranquil gardens, and breathtaking views”. The art collection boasts of “European paintings, drawings, manuscripts, sculpture and decorative arts, and European and American photographs”. One of the more prominent works on display is Irises by Vincent van Gogh.Β The centre itself sits atop a hill with an awesome view of Los Angeles. You get there by a cable-pulled tram. The photos below are of the terrific architecture, the views over Los Angeles, the cactus garden and the central garden.

The Front

The Inner Courtyard

The View

The View from the Central Garden

The Central Garden

About May Dayao

Carpe diem!
This entry was posted in California, Travel, USA and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Getty Center

  1. TBM says:

    Wonderful photos. Even though I lived near there for years, I never went. Of course I moved away when I was a kid so I blame my parents πŸ™‚

  2. zelmare says:

    Gollygosh!!! This is an impressive building, and I love your photos! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

