Difficult to say goodbye

These past few weeks have not been easy for our family. We had to say goodbye to one of the kindest, loving and caring man I’ve ever known – my father in law; to us, he was simply Dad. He was the one we ran to when we needed help. He could fix anything. He was brilliant that way. He would look at the problem and come up with a solution. He also knew how to build things with his hands; that is so rare these days. He was an extraordinary man and truly loved by many.

It is still difficult for me to accept what has happened. I expect him to call any time and leave his cute messages on our answering machine. We miss him tremendously. I wish this is all a bad dream. There is a constant heaviness in our hearts that can’t be lifted.

If I could see him one more time ~ I would tell him I want to go on one more trip with him. I would give him the biggest hug and this is what I’d like to say to him…

Dad ~ We miss you so much. Thank you for the time you shared with us. Thank you for all your help. Thank you for your kindness. Thank you for your generosity. Thank you for your caring ways. Thank you for your unconditional love. This is not goodbye. We will see each other again. We love you Dad. We will always love you. We will never forget. You will be in our hearts forever.

 

About May Dayao

Carpe diem!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Difficult to say goodbye

  1. zelmare says:

    He sounds like such a special man… I’m sorry for your loss, it’s never easy to loose a loved one. It’s empty words right now, but you’ll always have the memories of this kind and wise man that you were fortunate enough to know.

    • May Dayao says:

      Thank you so much Zelmare. I appreciate your kind words. Not a day goes by that we don’t think of him. It was just so sudden and too soon.

Leave a Reply

